FIXME Cette page n'est pas encore traduite entièrement. Merci de terminer la traduction
(supprimez ce paragraphe une fois la traduction terminée)

Métadonnées » Aleister Crowley » Libers » Liber II Le Message du Maître Therion

Concordance » Aleister Crowley » Libers » Liber II Le Message du Maître Therion

Aleister Crowley » Libers » Liber II Le Message du Maître Therion

Liber II Le Message du Maître Therion

Liber II Le Message du Maître Therion
Sigillum Sanctum Fraternitatis A∴A∴

A∴A∴
Publication dans la classe E.


Faites ce que vous voulez être l'ensemble de la Loi.

Il n'y a pas de Loi au-delà de ce que tu veux

Le mot de la Loi est Θελημα.

Θελημα—Thelema—veut dire Volonté.

La clé de ce message est ce mot-Volonté. Le premier sens évident de cette loi est confirmé par l'antithèse; “La parole du péché est la restriction”.

Encore: “Tu n'as plus de droit que de faire ta volonté. Faites cela et aucun autre dira non. Pour la volonté pure, sans objet, délivré de la convoitise du résultat, est parfait. ”

Prenez ceci avec soin; Il semble impliquer une théorie selon laquelle si chaque homme et chaque femme faisaient la volonté de lui et de sa volonté, la vraie volonté, il n'y aurait pas de contrecoup. “Chaque homme et chaque femme est une étoile”, et chaque étoile se déplace sans entrave. Il y a beaucoup de place pour tous; Ce n'est que le désordre qui crée de la confusion.

De ces considérations, il est clair que “Faites ce que vous voulez” ne signifie pas “Faites ce que vous aimez”. C'est l'apothéose de la Liberté; Mais c'est aussi le lien le plus strict possible.

Faites ce que vous voulez, ne faites rien d'autre. Que rien ne te détourne de cette tâche austère et sainte. La liberté est absolue à faire ta volonté; Mais cherche à faire autre chose, et des obstacles instantanés doivent survenir. Tout acte qui n'est pas défini dans cette orbite est erratique, un obstacle. La volonté ne doit pas être deux, mais une.

Notez en outre que cette volonté n'est pas seulement d'être pure, c'est-à-dire unique, comme expliqué ci-dessus, mais aussi «sans objet». Cette phrase étrange doit nous faire une pause. Cela peut signifier que tout but dans la volonté l'étouffe; Clairement la “convoitise du résultat” est une chose à partir de laquelle il doit être livré.

Mais la phrase peut également être interprétée comme si elle lisait «avec un but non assoupli», avec une énergie infatigable. La conception est donc d'un mouvement éternel, infini et inaltérable. C'est le Nirvana, seulement dynamique plutôt que statique - et cela arrive à la fin.

La tâche pratique évidente du magicien est alors de découvrir quelle est sa volonté, afin qu'il puisse le faire de cette manière, et il peut le mieux accomplir par les pratiques de Liber Thisarb (voir Equinox I (7), p. 105 ) Ou d'autres personnes pouvant être nommées d'une fois à l'autre.

Tu dois (1) savoir ce qu'est ton Volonté. (2) Faire cette volonté avec a) one-pointedness, b) le détachement, c) la paix.

Alors, et seulement, êtes-vous en harmonie avec le Mouvement des choses, votre volonté fait partie de, et donc égale à, la volonté de Dieu. Et puisque la volonté n'est que l'aspect dynamique de soi, et comme deux êtres différents ne possédaient pas de volonté identique; Alors, si ta volonté sera la volonté de Dieu, tu es ça.

Il n'y a qu'un autre mot à expliquer. Ailleurs, il est écrit - sûrement pour notre grand confort - “L'amour est la loi, l'amour sous la volonté”.

Cela doit être considéré comme signifiant que, même si Volonté est la loi, la nature de cette volonté est l'amour. Mais cet Amour est comme un sous-produit de cette Volonté; Il ne contredit ni ne remplace cette volonté; Et si une contradiction apparente devait survenir en cas de crise, c'est la Volonté qui nous guidera correctement. Moi, alors que dans le Livre de la Loi est beaucoup d'Amour, il n'y a pas de Sentimentalité. La haine elle-même est presque comme l'amour! «En tant que frères, combattez-vous!» Toutes les races viriles du monde le comprennent. L'amour de Liber Legis est toujours audacieux, viril, voire orgiastique. Il y a de la délicatesse, mais c'est la délicatesse de la force. Puissant, terrible et glorieux tel qu'il est, cependant, ce n'est que le pennon sur la lance sacrée de Volonté, l'inscription damassée sur les épées des moines chevaliers de Thelema.

L'amour est la loi, l'amour sous la volonté.

666


Cette épître est apparue dans The Equinox III(1) (Detroit: Universal, 1919).
Les citations proviennent de Liber Legis-Le Livre de la Loi.—H.B.


Thelema

Si vous avez trouvé ce matériel utile ou éclairé, vous pourriez également vous intéresser

Marque désposée

Ordo Templi Orientis, OTO et le design OTO Lamen sont des marques déposées d'Ordo Templi Orientis.

Droits d'Auteur

Tous les droits d'auteur sur le matériel Aleister Crowley sont détenus par Ordo Templi Orientis. Ce site n'est pas un site officiel OTO et n'est ni parrainé ni contrôlé par Ordo Templi Orientis.

Le texte de ce matériel Aleister Crowley n'est disponible ici que pour une utilisation personnelle et non commerciale. Ce matériel est fourni ici sous une forme consultable appropriée en tant que ressource d'étude pour les chercheurs recherchant dans leur recherche. Pour toute utilisation commerciale, veuillez contacter Ordo Templi Orientis.

  • Dernière modification: 2017/08/31 09:23
  • par John Bell

Metadata » Aleister Crowley » Libers » Liber II The Message of The Master Therion

Concordance » Aleister Crowley » Libers » Liber II The Message of The Master Therion

Aleister Crowley » Libers » Liber II The Message of The Master Therion

Liber II The Message of The Master Therion

Liber B vel Magi sub figurâ I
Sigillum Sanctum Fraternitatis A∴A∴

A∴A∴
Publication in Class E.


Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law.

There is no Law beyond Do what thou wilt

The word of the Law is Θελημα.

Θελημα—Thelema—means Will.

The Key to this Message is this word—Will. The first obvious meaning of this Law is confirmed by antithesis; “The word of Sin is Restriction.”

Again: “Thou hast no right but to do thy will. Do that and no other shall say nay. For pure will, unassuaged of purpose, delivered from the lust of result, is every way perfect.”

Take this carefully; it seems to imply a theory that if every man and every woman did his and her will—the true will—there would be no clashing. “Every man and every woman is a star,” and each star moves in an appointed path without interference. There is plenty of room for all; it is only disorder that creates confusion.

From these considerations it should be clear that “Do what thou wilt” does not mean “Do what you like.” It is the apotheosis of Freedom; but it is also the strictest possible bond.

Do what thou wilt—then do nothing else. Let nothing deflect thee from that austere and holy task. Liberty is absolute to do thy will; but seek to do any other thing whatever, and instantly obstacles must arise. Every act that is not in definite course of that one orbit is erratic, an hindrance. Will must not be two, but one.

Note further that this will is not only to be pure, that is, single, as explained above, but also “unassuaged of purpose.” This strange phrase must give us pause. It may mean that any purpose in the will would damp it; clearly the “lust of result” is a thing from which it must be delivered.

But the phrase may also be interpreted as if it read “with purpose unassuaged”—i.e., with tireless energy. The conception is, therefore, of an eternal motion, infinite and unalterable. It is Nirvana, only dynamic instead of static—and this comes to the same thing in the end.

The obvious practical task of the magician is then to discover what his will really is, so that he may do it in this manner, and he can best accomplish this by the practices of Liber Thisarb (see Equinox I(7), p. 105) or such others as may from one time to another be appointed.

Thou must (1) Find out what is thy Will. (2) Do that Will with a) one-pointedness, b) detachment, c) peace.

Then, and then only, art thou in harmony with the Movement of Things, thy will part of, and therefore equal to, the Will of God. And since the will is but the dynamic aspect of the self, and since two different selves could not possess identical wills; then, if thy will be God's will, Thou art That.

There is but one other word to explain. Elsewhere it is written— surely for our great comfort—“Love is the law, love under will.”

This is to be taken as meaning that while Will is the Law, the nature of that Will is Love. But this Love is as it were a by-product of that Will; it does not contradict or supersede that Will; and if apparent contradiction should arise in any crisis, it is the Will that will guide us aright. Lo, while in The Book of the Law is much of Love, there is no word of Sentimentality. Hate itself is almost like Love! “As brothers fight ye!” All the manly races of the world understand this. The Love of Liber Legis is always bold, virile, even orgiastic. There is delicacy, but it is the delicacy of strength. Mighty and terrible and glorious as it is, however, it is but the pennon upon the sacred lance of Will, the damascened inscription upon the swords of the Knight-monks of Thelema.

Love is the law, love under will.

666


This Epistle first appeared in The Equinox III(1) (Detroit: Universal, 1919).
The quotations are from Liber Legis-The Book of the Law.—H.B.

Copyright © Ordo Templi Orientis


Download as TXTPDF


Thelema

If you have found this material useful or enlightening, you may also be interested in

Trademark

Ordo Templi Orientis, O.T.O., and the O.T.O. Lamen design are registered trademarks of Ordo Templi Orientis.

Copyright

All copyrights on Aleister Crowley material are held by Ordo Templi Orientis. This site is not an official O.T.O. website, and is neither sponsored by nor controlled by Ordo Templi Orientis.

The text of this Aleister Crowley material is made available here only for personal and non-commercial use. This material is provided here in a convenient searchable form as a study resource for those seekers looking for it in their research. For any commercial use, please contact Ordo Templi Orientis.

Limited License

For those Aleister Crowley materials that are not public domain, fair use, or that were provided by O.T.O. freely for download; some variation on the following limited license is probably relevant for authorizing personal and research use.

*************************************************************************
Copyright (c) Ordo Templi Orientis

O.T.O.
P.O.Box 430
Fairfax, CA  94930
USA

(415) 454-5176 ----  messages only.

LIMITED LICENSE Except for notations added to the history of modification, the 
text on this diskette down to the next row of asterisks must accompany all 
copies made of this file.  In particular, this paragraph and the copyright 
notice are not to be deleted or changed on any copies or print-outs of this 
file.  With these provisos, anyone may copy this file for personal use or 
research.  Copies may be made for others at reasonable cost of copying and 
mailing only, no additional charges may be added.

*************************************************************************