The Thrones. The Names Drawn from the Circumference of the Sigillum

Who is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of every creature: For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they be thrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by him, and for him: And he is before all things, and by him all things consist.

Colossians 1: 15-17

As was pointed out in the last of this series, the letters and numbers that are contained within the divisions of the Circumference of the Sigillum form a kind of cipher from which a series of names are derived. The algorithm of this cipher is purely arithmetic, and is similar to similar kinds of ciphers found in the works of Trithemius particularly his Stenographia.1 The rules for deriving the names are as follows:

1. In general, the capital letters indicate the initial of the name. 2. If the number is above the letter, count toward the right or clockwise. 3. If the number is below the letter, count toward the left or counterclockwise. 4. If there is no number with the letter/letters you have reached the termination of the name. 5. When there is a double vowel, the duplicate is eliminated; except when it falls at the beginning of the name.

The example of Thaoth was given in the previous article, so we shall use the next clockwise example to review the problem. The second division of the Circumference contains 9G, so the name begins with G and is counted 9 places to the right for the next letter landing on 6a. Count therefore 6 more to the right to l8. The number 8 being below the letter l, the count reverses direction counting 8 spaces to the left to 20a, then 20 spaces to the right, landing on 8a, and 8 more spaces to the right ending at the s with no number. Thus the name derived is Galaas. Double vowels are reduced to singles, unless they fall at the beginning of the word, so the final name is Galas.

These seven principle names are thus rendered:


Thaoth 4 T >4
22 h >22
11 A >11
a 5 <5
o 10 <10
t 11 <11
Galas 9 G >9
6 a >6
l 8 >8
20 a >20
8 a >8
Gethog 7 G >7
e 21 <21
t 9 <9
h 14 <14
Horlωn H 12 <12
22 o >22
r 16 <16
26 l >26
6 ω >6
Aaoth3 11 A >11
a 5 <5
o 10 <10
t 11 <11
Innon 15 I >19
7 n >7
14 n >14
o 8 <8
Galethog 5 G >5
α 24 <24
l 30 <30
ε 21 <21
t 9 <9
h 14 <14

In this way 7 names are derived, beginning with the capital letters. They are in clockwise order:

  1. Thaoth
  2. Galas
  3. Gethog
  4. Horlωn
  5. Aaoth
  6. Innon
  7. Galethog

The archangel Michael reordered these names as follows:

  1. Galas
  2. Gethog
  3. Thaoth
  4. Horlωn
  5. Innon
  6. Aaoth
  7. Galethog

Drawn from the Circumference of the Sigillum, the complete set of patterns describing the principle names can be seen in the following diagrams.

The seven names given above do not use all of the letters in the Circumference, a fact ignored by Dee in his analysis of the formulation of the Circumference of the Sigillum. It is notable, in this regard, that there are two places where the information received by the Kelly and Dee is essentially improperly transferred from text of the Spirit Actions to the form of the Sigillum constructed by Dee. Both of these locations are keys to understanding the letters not accounted for in the seven principal names given. These locations are the 22nd and 32nd divisions of the Circumference. The first of these is given in the Spirit Action as y15 but shown in Dee’s rendering of the Sigillum as y14, and the second is the infamous A666; which is reduced to 6A in the Sigillum, by the action and instruction of Michael. These places are notable because it is from them that the remaining letters may be accounted for by the method of deriving names used for deciphering the principle seven.

If the value for the 22nd division is taken as the y15, that was properly assigned in the Spirit Action, then by the formula the next division would be 6m, six to the right of that is 18o, and 18 further to the right is n, yielding the name Ymon. The A666 is a bit more complicated. If we read it as corrected by Michael we get 6A to a5 and the pattern thereafter replicates the name Aaoth in full, not a problem per se, but also it doesn’t account for any of the otherwise unused letters. If the 6 is, on the other hand, read counterclockwise then the division next 10b, 10 to the right is o17, 17 to the left is 13r and 13 to the right returns to the A666 yielding AborA. This repeats and accounts for all of the divisions and letters otherwise unaccounted for in the original seven names.

Their respective derivation is:

Ymon y 15 <15
6 m >6
18 o >18
Aaoth 6 A >11
a 5 <5
o 10 <10
t 11 <11
AborA A 6 <6
10 b >10
o 17 <17
13 r >13
A 666


1. An admirable introduction to the subject can be found in Wayne Shumaker's Renaissance Curiosa (Binghamptom, New York: Medieval and Renaissance Texts and Studies, 1982), but reference can be made to Trithemius two original works on the subject, the Steganographie: Ars per occult am Scripturam (1st published 1508 faces. of the 1561 Paris edt. available at and the Polygraphia (first published 1508 facs of the 1561 Frankfurt edt.

2. This s is also given as alternatively the number 5 in the Spirit Action. The 5 is not only significant in that the value is critical for sum of the numbers of the Circumference to equal 440, the gematria of Teli or serpent (cf. Coph Nia Wand, Vernal Equinox 2009 e.v.) but here in that the 5 returns the sequence back to the capital G which begins this name. Similar significant curiosities abound in the variations of the values given for the divisions in the Spirit Action, and the diligent student is recommended to explore them all and their various implications.

3. This Aaoth is both contained completely within the name Thaoth but also repeated in the in the dual formula of the derivation from the A666 division.

Previous | Top | Index | Next